The 150-km-long route takes 5 days to complete. The route is mostly comprised of natural objects with the Stelmužė Oak being its centerpiece. This oak is the most famous oak in Lithuania as it is the oldest and the thickest one. The route will take you to three lakes and the second largest reservoir. As you travel along the cognitive paths and enjoy the views from the 17-meter-high Zarasai Observation Tower, you will also see several churches revealing the local history of the region.
The circular observation deck was opened for visitors in 2011. It is an architectural structure that has no analogue in the entire Lithuania. Visitors can walk along a circular pathway of 17 meters in height to view the mesmerizing vistas of Lake Zarasas or climb down the stairway to take a walk along the shore of Lake Zarasas, have a rest on the nearby benches and simply enjoy the picturesque views of the lake and its nature.
Stelmužė Church was constructed in 1650 as a philia of Alūksta Parish and belonged to the Calvinists. The church was built by Latvian artisans who used no metal nails or saws and simply trimmed wooden logs with axes. The interior of the church was finished after 1713 using the money donated by the Folkerzamb Family.
Stelmužė Oak is the oldest and thickest oak-tree in Lithuania and one of the oldest oaks in the entire Europe. The tree is located in Stelmužė Village and is about 1,500 years old. Its diameter is 3.5 m and its circumference near the ground is 13 m.
Antalieptė Reservoir was formed in 1959 by damming the Šventoji River at the 211th km from its mouth. This artificial lake is second in size in Lithuania after Kaunas Reservoir. Its area is 1911 ha, the deepest part reaches up to 46 m, and average depth is 7.2 m.
With its depth reaching 62.5 m, Lake Tauragnas is the deepest Lithuanian lake which is also located highest above the sea level. Legends say that Duke Rigimundas was once spending the night on the shores of the lake. When everyone fell asleep, and old master of the Baltic psalteries of the Duke started playing his instrument. His music was so beautiful that two aurochs came out of the forest to listen to him. The aurochs spoke to the musician in human voices. The latter asked them which place would be best to settle down. The aurochs pointed him to the hill on the shores of the lake. The duke built a castle there and called it Taurapilis (Aurochs Castle). The lake has since been named Tauragnas after the two aurochs (Lith. tauras means aurochs).
Lake Alaušas is surrounded by Rukliai and Ąžuolaušis Forests from the east and meadows and fields from other sides. In the summers, the water is clear as glass up to the depth of 4–6 m. Even though the water is deep, the body of the lake is large and wide; thus, the wind mixes the water well and its temperature ranges from 2°C to 8°C.